Wednesday, May 1, 2013

Congressman Michael Quigley Praises Honor Flight Veterans

Three of the veterans noted in the speech below are participants in the Veterans History Project at the Niles Public Library and links to their interviews appear below.




MONDAY, JUNE 25, 2012

Mr. QUIGLEY. Mr. Speaker, I rise to honor the World War II veterans who traveled to Washington, DC, on June 19, 2012 with Honor Flight Chicago, a program that provides World War II veterans the opportunity to visit the World War II Memorial on The National Mall in Washington, DC. This memorial was built to honor their courage and service to their country.

The American Veteran is one of our greatest treasures. The Soldiers, Airmen, Sailors, Marines, and Coast Guardsmen who traveled here on June 19 answered our nation's call to service during one of its greatest times of need. From the European Campaign to the Pacific Asian Theatre to the African Theater, these brave Americans risked life and limb, gave service and sacrificed much, all while embodying what it is to be a hero. We owe them more gratitude than can ever be expressed.

I welcome these brave veterans to Washington and to their memorial. I am proud to submit the names of these men and women for all to see, hear, and recognize, and I call on my colleagues to rise and join me in expressing gratitude.

Nick Angelopulos, Olin Apgar, James E. Atkinson, Albert Augustyn, Douglas Babitzke, David Baruch, John M. Campbell, Lester Catlin, John Ciolek, Joseph T. Connelly, Edward W. Connelly, Peter J. Cortopassi, Eldon L. Cueno, Charlie L. Davis, Donald DeKraker, Thaddeus J. Dobrowolski, Francis Duffy, Ladimir F. Dvorak, Bernard Ellman, Melvin Elmhorst, Eugene T. Entrican, Peter Eugenis, Alfred Evinger, Robert M. Flynn, Charles Ford, Rogers P. Freedlund, Wilbur Lee German, Lawrence E. Gilford, Frank J. Gliwa, George Griner, Eugene E. Hainchek, Martin A. Halloran, Harold M. Halsten, William V. Hervoy, Elden E. Holzwart, Ernest Hoskins, Richard H. Hyde, David S. Jameson, Evert P. Johnson, Edward S. Killian, Edward Kozlow, Ralph H. Krichbaum, William E. Krueger, Clarence E. Kuhlman, Walter Leslie, Aaron H. Levin, Louis G. Limperes, Edmund Lozano, Frederick Ruiz Maravilla, Emil L. Marcotte, Donald J. Marsaglia, Henry Alvin Mathews, William McNabola, Robert A. Mortensen,

Frank J. Muehlbauer, James M. Muirhead, John Mullen, Thomas J. Mulligan, Harold Nicodem, Lawrence E. Nielsen, John S. Opitz, Robert D. Pasquale, Angelo J. Pasquesi, William Payne, Sr., Frederick Thomas Pennix, Joseph Persico, Edward Richards, Kenneth Richardt, Walter Schauer, Arthur Shapiro, Joseph W. Sheade, William S. Sherwood, William F. Shipp, Edward Skrapka, Donald Frank Slapak, Calvin Sleeman, Robert N. Smedberg, Arne Sorensen, Salvatore Sparacio, Donald F. Spitzer, Lyle Claude Springer, Robert Steege, Conrad L. Steindler, Lester Strejc, Evan B. Stubbs, Benjamin Sultz, Edward Telman, William L. Tiffin, Alexander T. Valos, Joseph J. Waickus, Reginald R. Watt, Bentley Weitzman, Bobby D. Whisler, Sidney Winters, Richard N. Wunderink.

No comments: